God’s Covenants, Part 4

The Davidic Covenant


The Davidic covenant happened at a time the the Israelites had accomplished much the God had planned for them.

Nearly all of the promised land was theirs. Remember the Abrahamic covenant was about acquiring the promised land.

The Mosaic covenant was about occupying the promised land.

The Davidic covenant was made nearly 1,000 years later when Israel was at its peak.

Here is the prophet’s message to David regarding God’s covenant with him. Mind you, it is a long but important in its message.


And it came to pass that night,

that the word of the Lord came unto Nathan, saying, 

Go and tell my servant David,

Thus saith the Lord,

Shalt thou build me an house for me to dwell in?

Whereas I have not dwelt in any house since the time

that I brought up the children of Israel out of Egypt,

even to this day,

but have walked in a tent and in a tabernacle.

In all the places wherein I have walked

with all the children of Israel spake I a word

with any of the tribes of Israel,

whom I commanded to feed my people Israel,

saying, Why build ye not me an house of cedar?

 Now therefore so shalt thou say unto my servant David,

Thus saith the Lord of hosts,

I took thee from the sheepcote, from following the sheep,

to be ruler over my people, over Israel:

and I was with thee whithersoever thou wentest,

and have cut off all thine enemies out of thy sight,

and have made thee a great name,

like unto the name of the great men that are in the earth.

 Moreover I will appoint a place for my people Israel,

and will plant them, that they may dwell

in a place of their own, and move no more;

neither shall the children of wickedness

afflict them any more, as beforetime,

and as since the time that I commanded judges to be

over my people Israel, and have caused thee to rest

from all thine enemies. Also the Lord telleth thee

that he will make thee an house.

And when thy days be fulfilled,

and thou shalt sleep with thy fathers,

I will set up thy seed after thee,

which shall proceed out of thy bowels,

and I will establish his kingdom.

He shall build an house for my name,

and I will stablish the throne of his kingdom for ever.

I will be his father, and he shall be my son.

If he commit iniquity,

I will chasten him with the rod of men,

and with the stripes of the children of men:

but my mercy shall not depart away from him,

as I took it from Saul, whom I put away before thee.

And thine house and thy kingdom shall be established

for ever before thee:

thy throne shall be established for ever.

2 Samuel 7:4-29


The first thing of note I see in this proclamation is what Jesus said to the sheep in the sermon on the Mount.

In as much as you have done this to the least of these my brethren, you have done it to me. I see God identifying more closely with His people in this covenant and even more closely in the next.

God said he dwelt in tents just like the Israelites. I realize the Ark of the covenant was in a tabernacle.

It is the connection with the brethren I find telling because this is exactly what Jesus said we should do. When we are providing for the least of our brethren, we are providing for God.

God wanted a more permanent residence with His people and David was to answer God’s request that was made repeatedly in the wilderness.

God tells David that He provided for him up to that point in time as promised in the Mosaic covenant.

He is also promising David that through his seed God will set up a permanent kingdom and thrown forever.

He would continue to provide for David’s needs because He was still under the Mosaic covenant.

He also promised to discipline David when he sinned and remain merciful, unlike King Saul.

This is the promise of our coming King Jesus. Who will reign not just over Israel but over the whole world.


This covenant has no end. Some of the specifics of the covenant were conditional.

The people and kings were suppose to keep the commandments of God and God would continue the promise of their authority over the land.

David was suppose to build God’s temple. But God denied him because he sinned.

His son, Solomon built the temple instead because David’s sin of blood shed that prevented him from doing so.


Then David the king stood up upon his feet, and said,

Hear me, my brethren, and my people:

As for me, I had in mine heart to build an house

of rest for the ark of the covenant of the Lord,

and for the footstool of our God,

and had made ready for the building: 

but God said unto me,

Thou shalt not build an house for my name,

because thou hast been a man of war, and hast shed blood.

1 Chronicles 28:2-3


God promised mercy to David. When David sinned, he repented of his sins and continued to walk with God just like we are suppose to do now.

I believe God will do this to anyone to follows the same path of sin and repentance as David did since this covenant is another picture of God’s coming grace, mercy, and judgment.


God wants to dwell in us. Like David’s sin of bloodshed, God does not want to dwell in a house stained with sin.

When we repent of our sins and believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, His Holy Spirit comes to dwell in us.

But God does not want to dwell where sin reigns.

I do not believe anyone who believes in Christ and practices the sins mentioned here will have the Spirit of God continually inhabit his person.

If we are unrepentant and allow the sinful nature to reign in our body, I don’t believe we will inherit the Kingdom of God.

God’s mercy only goes so far. How far? That I have not figured out.

I do believe this.


 

“For if we sin wilfully after that

we have received the knowledge of the truth,

there remaineth no more sacrifice for sins,

but a certain fearful looking for of judgment

and fiery indignation,

which shall devour the adversaries.”

Hebrews 10:26-27


and this . . .


If we say that we have fellowship with him,

and walk in darkness, we lie, and do not the truth:

but if we walk in the light, as he is in the light,

we have fellowship one with another,

and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin.

If we say that we have no sin,

we deceive ourselves,

and the truth is not in us.

1 John 1:6-8


We are to walk in a way that allows Christ to cleanse and keep us cleansed from all sin. We are to walk in His ways and not our ways or the ways of the world. We are to deny sin.

We are not to deceive ourselves. This is not what Christianity is all about. It is about truth, honesty, and living as Christ calls us to live.

God loves us and wants the best for us. This we must seek with all our heart. The next covenant should shed more light on how we can do that and live in the assurance of our salvation.

 

Leave a Reply

